© Copyright – 2015 – Athletics Illustrated

Day one at the 2015 IAAF World Track and Field Championships came to a close with few surprises, but with a few favourites winning too.

For example Mo Farah of Great Britain won the men’s 10,000m race in the time of 27:01.13, which is almost the identical time to the winning result from the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games 10,000m, where world record holder, Ethiopian Kenenisa Bekele won in 27:01.17. Farah started the race at the back of the pack. The first two laps were relatively slow at 70 and 68 seconds, but dropped to approximately 65 seconds for most of the rest of the race. The leaders went through half-way in 13:40.83, with Kenyans leading leading 1-2-3. The second half was 20 second faster than the first half.

British athlete Farah was the gold medallist from the 2012 London Olympic Games, while teammate Galen Rupp of the US was the silver medallist, but he only managed to finish fifth today in the time of 27:08.91; not far off the lead though. A third Nike Oregon Project athlete Cameron Levins of Canada finished in 28:15.19 in 14th position. Second place went to Kenyan Geoffrey Kamworor in the time of 27:01.76, while Kenyan Paul Tanui finish in third in the time of 27:02.83.


The marathon kicked the day off with a win by 19-year-old Eritrean Ghirmay Ghebreslassie in the time of 2:12:28, which is a typical win time for a mid-summer contest in the heat. Many of the favourites dropped out of the race due to the scorching heat  and humidity, including current world record holder Dennis Kimetto (2:02:57) and former world record holder Wilson Kipsang (2:03:23), both of Kenya. Only 42 of 68 athletes finished the race. Second and third place went to Ethiopian Yemane Tsegay in the time of 2:13.08 and Munyo Solomon Mutai of Uganda 22 seconds back at 2:13:30.


Fifteen athletes survived the first round of heats of the 3,000m steeplechase event. From heat 1 Evan Jager finished second to Kenyan Conseslus Kipruto and third was Canadian Matthew Hughes. They finished in a cluster in 8:41.41, 8:41.51 and 8:41.52 to move on.

In heat number 2 five athletes qualified to move on. They ran a faster race with Jairus Birech of Kenya finishing in 8:25.77. The four other finishers were Bilal Tabti of Algeria, Donald Cabral of the US, Tolosa Nurgi of Ethiopia and Hamid Ezzine of Morocco.

The third heat was slightly faster with a winning time of 8:24.75. Your qualifiers are Kenyan Ezekiel Kemboi who finished in 8:24.75. Kemboi was followed in by Moroccan Brahim Taleb in 8:24.84.

Steeple results can be found here

In the Pole Vault event American Sam Kendricks and Canadian Shawn Barber and Michal Balner of the Czech Republic were the top three finishers in the preliminary round to move on with six other athletes, all of whom successfully vaulted to the height to 5.70m. For Ivan Horat of Croatia he accomplished the national record with him 5.70m performance.

Canadian Barber earlier this summer won the gold medal at the Toronto Pan American Games. He is also the 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games bronze medallist. He owns a personal best of 5.93m, which is the highest personal best performance out of all of the athletes that qualified to move on. It has been a while since American Brad Walker vaulted 6.04m, which is the highest performance of all starters; however, he failed to move on. Anyone can win on the day and Barber has as good a chance as any athlete in winning gold.

100m sprint heats

No sparks or interesting stories took place during the 100m heats on day 1; however, Justin Gatlin did run the fastest time on the day.

Gatlin ran 9.83 seconds to win heat number 6. Usain Bolt of Jamaica won heat 7 with his 9.96, a veritable walk in the park compared to his 9.58 personal best and world record. American Mike Rodgers tried to make a go of it and finished second to Bolt in 9.97 seconds.

Two Canadians moved on with one of them being Aaron Brown of Toronto finishing in second place in heat number 6 with his finishing time of 10.03 to first place finisher Gatlin.

France’s Jimmy Vicaut won heat number 5 with his time of 9.92, but second was Canadian Andre De Grasse in 9.99 second who likely ran only fast enough to move on De Grasse turned heads earlier this year when he doubled down on the NCAA championships with national championships in both the 100m and 200m events. He owns the national 200m record and has run the fastest, albeit wind-aided 100m in over two decades with his 9.86. His official personal best for the 100m is 9.95 seconds.

Trayvon Bromell won heat number 4 in the time of 9.91. This was not a competitive race as everyone behind him was well over 10 seconds. Femi Ogunode of Qatar who won in 9.99 seconds in heat 3. Tyson Gay jogged heat 2 in 10.11 seconds, preserving himself for the next round.

Asafa Powell started the day off with a decent standard of sprinting with his performance of 9.95 seconds leaving Chinese runner Bingtian Su in his dust, who finished in 10.03.

Full results and stories on the day can be found here.