© Copyright – 2022 – Athletics Illustrated

The timing couldn’t have been better for Ruth Chepngetich of Kenya. As it happened, the Nagoya Women’s Marathon was offering a first-place prize of $250,000, and world record holder, Brigid Kosgei, had just run the Tokyo Marathon on March 6. Tokyo is one of the six Marathon Majors and attracted a strong lead field. With primarily Lonah Salpeter from Isreal as her main competition, toeing the line would mean the 27-year-old would have a good chance at that quarter-million dollar payday.

She came, she raced and she won clocking a 2:17:18 performance. The result is now the second-fastest women’s only marathon performance all-time. Salpeter raced well and finished second in the time of 2:18:45. Her personal best is 2:17:45.

Chepngetich ran splits of 1:09:03 and 1:08:15, respectively. By just over the 30K point, Salpeter, who dropped off the pace earlier, was back. It took a strong final 5K by Chepngetich to drop Salpeter, running near 16-minutes-flat over the final stretch.

The world record in a women’s only race is 2:17:01 by fellow Kenyan Mary Keitany. Chepngetich’s personal best (in a mixed race) is 2:17:08.

The top Japanese runner was Yuka Ando, who clocked a 2:22:22 finish time. She finished third. The 27-year-old’s best is 2:21:36 from the 2017 running of the same event. The first international athlete not in the top-three was Eloise Wellings from Australia clocking a 2:25:10 finish, which is the 39-year-old’s best performance to date. She finished in sixth position.

Fifteen athletes finished under 2:29:30, which has been the Olympic and World Championships standard for several years. Seventy-eight ran sub-3:00:00. Over 300 were within a handful of minutes of the three-hour benchmark.

Top-20 results

1. Ruth Chepngetich (KEN) – 2:17:18

2. Lonah Chemptai Salpeter (ISR) – 2:18:45

3. Yuka Ando (JPN) – 2:22:22

4. Ai Hosoda (JPN) – 2:24:26

5. Yuka Suzuki (JPN) – 2:25:02 

6. Eloise Wellings (AUS) – 2:25:10

7. Ikumi Fukura (JPN) – 2:25:15

8. Kotona Ota (JPN) – 2:25:56

9. Kanako Takemoto (JPN) – 2:26:23

10. Chiharu Ikeda (JPN) – 2:26:50

11. Reia Iwade  (JPN) – 2:27:03

12. Mirai Waku (JPN) – 2:27:16

13. Rie Kawauchi (JPN) – 2:27:52

14. Yuma Adachi (JPN) – 2:28:28

15. Hikari Onishi (JPN) – 2:28:56

16. Hanae Tanaka (JPN) – 2:30:01

17. Anna Matsuda (JPN) – 2:30:19

18. Nana Sato (JPN) – 2:30:24

19. Momoko Watanabe (JPN) – 2:30:42

20. Mayu Nishikawa (JPN) – 2:31:32

See full results here>>