NN Running Team

Eliud Kipchoge

Eliud Kipchoge took another step on his dream to win all six Abbott World Marathon Majors Sunday (Japanese time) by securing an emphatic victory in the 2022 Tokyo Marathon in a new course record of 2:02:40.

Returning to Japan just seven months after the unforgettable retention of his Olympic marathon title on the streets of Sapporo, Kipchoge once again revealed his super-human levels of endurance to destroy a world-class field and notch up a victory at a fourth Marathon Major.

He has previously triumphed four times in the London Marathon, three times in Berlin and he has one win in Chicago. Only the Boston Marathon and New York City Marathons now remain in his sights to complete the Grand Slam of Marathon Major victories.

Kipchoge said of his success today in Tokyo, “Today I’m very happy. After winning my second Olympic Gold medal in Japan last summer, I returned to Tokyo to run a strong race. And this is what I meant with a strong race, 2:02 victory, and new course record. I’m proud to now have won four out of the six Abbott World Marathon Major races.

Finally, I want to say I want this world to unite. If there are differences I want us to meet and speak, not fight. My win today is to bring positivity in this world.”

Kipchoge is seen as the greatest marathon runner in history. A two-time Olympic 5000m medallist – since moving up to the 42.2km distance, he has won a remarkable 13 of his 15 career marathons.

In addition to Kipchoge’s incredible performance, the other athletes of the NN Running Team also delivered solid performances. In the women’s race, Ashete Bekere, finished second by running 2:17:58. Laban Korir finished sixth with a time of 2:06:37 and Jonathan Korir came in 12th position with a time of 2:08:04. Noah Kipkemboi and Philemon Kacheran were the pacers.

In the men’s race, Kenyan Amos Kipruto took second in the time of 2:03:13 while Ethiopian Tamirat Tola clocked 2:04:14 for third.

1. Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) — 2:02:40
2. Amos Kipruto (KEN) — 2:03:13
3. Tamirat Tola (ETH) — 2:04:14
4. Kengo Suzuki (JPN) — 2:05:28
5. Shura Kitata (ETH) — 2:06:12
6. Laban Korir (KEN) — 2:06:37
7. Kenya Sonata (JPN) — 2:07:23
8. Shun Yuzawa (JPN) — 2:07:31
9. Kento Kikutani (JPN) — 2:07:55
10. Michael Githae (KEN) — 2:07:55

Brigid Kosgei

Brigid Kosgei got redemption in Japan as she finished second during the Tokyo Olympic Marathon, which was run in Sapporo. Sunday, she ran the third-fastest women’s performance all-time for the win. The world record holder (2:14:04) clocked 2:16:02.

As suggested in the pre-race story, it was suspected that Bekere would challenge for the win. Nearly two minutes behind Kosgei, she still ran a great race clocking 2:17:58. Ethiopian Gotytom Gebresiase took third in the time of 2:18:18.

The 2:18:18 performance is the exact same time as Bekere’s previous best, which the 33-year-old ran five months ago in London.

Clearly training with Kipchoge’s group (NN Running) has paid off.

1. Brigid Kosgei (KEN) — 2:16:02
2. Ashete Bekere (ETH) — 2:17:58
3. Gotytom Gebreslase (ETH) — 2:18:18
4. Angela Tanui (KEN) — 2:18:42
5. Hiwot Gebrekidan (ETH) — 2:19:10
6. Mao Ichiyama (JPN) — 2:21:02
7. Hitomi Niiya (JPN) — 2:21:17
8. Sara Hall (USA) — 2:22:56
9. Helen Bekele (ETH) — 2:24:33
10. Kaori Morita (JPN) — 2:27:38