Brimin Misoi and Buzunesh Gudeta were crowned champions of what proved to be the highest-quality race in the history of the Mainova Frankfurt Marathon.

At least in terms of combined winning times it was. Misoi of Kenya retained the men’s title in the 40th-anniversary event, crossing the finish line in the Festhalle in 2:04:53, the second-fastest performance ever in the race’s history. He became the first man since compatriot Wilson Kipsang won two consecutive Mainova Frankfurt Marathon titles, beginning in 2010. In windy and wet conditions, Buzunesh Gudeta achieved the second-fastest women’s time ever in the event with 2:19:27, missing the course record by 17 seconds.

The combined winning times of the women’s and men’s champions came to 4:24:20, the fastest aggregate time ever in Frankfurt. The 40th-anniversary marathon had 13,258 participants from 115 countries.