© Copyright – 2013 – Athletics Illustrated

Pre-race 10,000-metre article below.


Men’s 800m
1. Anthony Chemut 1:44.33
2. Ferguson Rotich 1:44.38
3. Jeremia Mutai 1:44.59

Women’s 800m
1. Eunice Jepkoech 1:59.30
2. Janeth Jepkosgei 1:59.70
3. Winny Chebet 2:00.00

Men’s 1500m
1. Silas Kiplagat 3:33.70
2. Asbel Kiprop 3:33.80
3. Nixon Chepseba 3:33.90
4. Caleb Nduki 3:34.20
5. Bethwell Birgen 3:34.40

Men’s 5000
1. Isiah Koech 13:35.12
2. Thomas Longosiwa 13:36.82
3. Edwin Soi 13:39.49
4. Augustine Choge 13:41.59
5. John Kipkoech 13:44.13

Women’s 5000m
1. Mercy Cherono 15:58.39
2. Viola Kibiwot 15:59.20
3. Margaret Muriuki 16:01.88
4. Agnes Tirop 16:09.24
5. Irene Cheptai 16:12.77

Men’s 10000m
1. Bedan Muchiri 27:31.61
2. Paul Tanui 27:32.76
3. Kenneth Kipkemoi 27:42.28
4. Emmanuel Bett 27:43.27
5. Josphat Kipkoech 27:44.26

Women’s 10000
1. Gladys Cherono 33:43.03
2. Emily Chebet 33:43.78
3. Sally Chepyego 33:45.81
4. Carolyne Cheptanui 33:51.34
5. Linet Masai 34:10.02

Saturday, in Nairobi’s Nyayo National Stadium, Athletics Kenya will feature a one-day meet for athletes to qualify for the 2013 IAAF World Track and Field Championships. The championships take place in Moscow, Russia from August 10 to the 18th.

Kenya traditionally wins or challenges at nearly every distance event at the Olympics and Worlds. The only area where they do not dominate are field and sprint events. So the emphasis will be primarily on distances from the 800 to the 10000 metre races. Below is a brief summation of who is competing at the Kenyan trials 10000 metres.  Hopefully the best Kenyan wins.

In 2012, for the first time in history, a country held its Olympic qualifying races outside its own country. For the London Olympic Games, Kenya held their trials in Eugene, Oregon. There was much head scratching over the move. Oddly, so far, there has been no consistent explanation for the radical change of venue, although Athletics Kenya claims that they wanted the race at sea level, as London is also at sea level. Ironically, some of the best Kenyans did not qualify for the respective events; head scratching likely turned to hand-wringing for AK President Isaiah Kiplagat as Mo Farah from the UK won gold, while American Galen Rupp won silver at the Olympics. For more irony, Nike sponsors the Kenyan team, while also sponsoring Mo Farah and Galen Rupp.

A Kenyan has won the 10000m title three times since the Worlds were started in Helsinki, Finland back in 1983, but it is their arch rivals that have truly dominated at this distance as the legendary Haile Gebrselassie and Kenenisa Bekele have won four times each with fellow countryman Ibrahim Jeilan prevailing in the last World Championships, 2011 Daegu, Korea. Charles Kamathi was the last Kenyan to claim the title in 2001 after Moses Tanui in 1991 and Paul Kipkoech 1987. Ethiopians have won nine titles in 13 editions.

Bedan Karoki, was the top Kenyan finisher at the 2012 London Olympics with a fifth place finish. Karoki is among the favourites, boasting the fastest time so far this season with his 27:05.50. He finished fourth at the Prefontaine Classic in Oregon. It’s the seventh fastest time in the world, this season.

Marathoner Geoffrey Mutai, who has run as fast as 2:03:02, hopes to capture a position on the team after missing out in the Olympic marathon. The field is rounded out by up and coming athletes including 2013 World Cross Country junior silver medallist, Leonard Barsiton, the 2011 World Youth and Commonwealth 3,000m champion, William Sitonik, 2011 World Cross Country junior silver medallist, Paul Tanui and 2010 World Junior 10,000m champion, Dennis Masai.

Emmanuel Bett owns the fastest qualifying time, of 26:51.16 from 2012, which is his personal best however, Kenya seems to have a vast and endless cache of athletes to step up on the day; his current personal best may mean little at the trials. In the mix is the 2007 World Cross Country junior silver medallist, Vincent Kiprop who is seeded with a lifetime personal best of 26:51.68, he also has the second fastest time this season, which is 27:17.30.

Winner of the Kenyan London Olympic trials, Wilson Kiprop, the 2008 World Cross Country silver medallist, Leonard Komon and 2007 World 10,000m bronze medallist, Martin Mathathi, will race hard to try to get on the Kenyan team going to Moscow. Let’s hope that the best Kenyans win on the day, Saturday, at the Nyayo National Stadium.