Barcelona enjoyed the second biggest half-marathon in Europe with the 34th eDreams Mitja Marató Barcelona by Brooks.

More than 28,000 runners — the highest number of participants in the history of the race — took the start in the Passeig de Picasso at 8:30 AM. The temperature of 11ºC on a sunny but slightly windy day.

Kibiwott Kandie asserts his favouritism

Kandie was the pre-race favourite. The Kenyan won the eDreams Mitja Marató Barcelona by Brooks 2024 with a time of 59:20, 27 seconds slower than the record set last year by Charles Kipkkurui Langat (58:53) in the Barcelona half-marathon, which was affected by the strong gusts of wind in the first part of the race. Second place went to Andreas Almgren (59:22), beating the Swedish national record in his debut at this distance, and third place went to Roncer Kipkorir Konga (59:27), also from Kenya.

Kandie breaking the tape for the win, photo credit: eDreams Mitja Marató Barcelona by Brooks 

“I am very happy to have improved the best time of my country (Sweden) by almost two minutes, being my debut in a half-marathon. I didn’t expect it, but I did it. I felt very comfortable, and I was able to hold on to the lead,” shared Almgren.

Joyciline Jepkosgei

As for the elite women, their pacer was Kenyan athlete Mathew Kiplimo leading the women at 3:04/km. In a very compact race from start to finish, the favourite was Kenyan Joyciline Jepkosgei who led from start to finish. She crossed the finish line in 1:04:29, beating the course record set last year by her compatriot Irine Jepchumba (1:04:37), which is the world lead for 2024.

Finishing in second place was Ethiopian Senbere Teferi (1:04:40), just one second away from breaking the women’s course record. In third place was Kenyan Gladys Chepkurui (1:06:32).

Jepkosgei breaking the tape, credit: eDreams Mitja Marató Barcelona by Brooks 

The athletes passed 5K in 15:20, which was the same pace as last year. The field was led by Jepkosgei and Teferi, who reached 10K in 30:19, 20 seconds faster than in 2023. At 15K, Jepkosgei arrived in the time of 45:34, 24 seconds up on the 2023 pace. At 20K, the Jepkosgei was sitting on 1:01:03. She went on to break the tape unchallenged.

“I am very excited to have won at the second attempt in Barcelona and to put my name on the course record. It was a big challenge for me, because Irine’s time was the fastest in the world at this distance in 2023, but Barcelona is an ideal city to run fast. I was able to manage the time well, and I am very happy to achieve my personal best time as well,” said Jepkosgei.

Other records

On a historic day, more records were broken. Camilla Richardson set the Finnish women’s national record (0:09:55), Sara Schou set the Swedish women’s national record (1:11:07) and a former Olympic athlete, the Portuguese Rosa Mota lowered the women’s half-marathon world record for the over 65 years category, she set herself in Valencia in 2023 (1:25:52) by almost a minute, finishing in 1:24:25. “I am very grateful to have been able to run in Barcelona and improve my personal best. I congratulate the organization for being able to offer a wonderful race to so many people,” said Mota.

Andreas Almgren (59:22) with new Swedish national record. Photo credit: eDreams Mitja Marató Barcelona by Brooks 

On the other hand, the best Catalan of the eDreams Mitja Marató Barcelona has been Artur Bossy (1:03:23), 17th overall. The best national female time was Laura Rodríguez (1:12:5h).

Top-10 finishers


  1. Joyciline Jekosgei (KEN) – 1:04:28
  2. Senebre Teferi – 1:04:40
  3. Gladys Chepkirui – 1:06:34
  4. Jessica Warner-Judd (GBR) – 1:07:07
  5. Anthony Felber – 1:08:05
  6. Abbie Donnelley – 1:09:10
  7. Carmen Domenech Honrubia – 1:09:30
  8. Diane Van Es – 1:09:31
  9. Camila Richardson – 1:09:55
  10. Sofia Segura Dominguez – 1:10:01


  1. Kibiwott Kandie (KEN) – 59:21
  2. Andreas Almgren (SWE) – 59:23
  3. Roncer Kipkorir KOnga – 59:28
  4. Dinkalem Ayele – 59:30
  5. Hillary Kipkoech – 59:37
  6. Emmanuel Moi Maru – 59:43
  7. Mathew Kimeli – 1:00:14
  8. Chimdessa Debele Gudeta – 1:00:23
  9. Ahmed El Jaddar – 1:00:40
  10. Peter Mwaniki Aila – 1:00:53

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.