© Copyright – 2022 – Athletics Illustrated

Thirty-seven-year-old Eliud Kipchoge is a 2022 World Athletics Athlete of the Year nominee.

The two-time Olympic champion and world record holder improved his own marathon world record at the Berlin Marathon in the time of 2:01:09.

Kipchoge won in 2018 and 2019. He was the runner-up in 2020 and 2021.

For World Athletics, this week opens the voting for the 2022 World Athletes of the Year award ahead of the World Athletics Awards that take place in December.

World Athletics has pared down the nominees by a selection committee of experts from all six World Athletics zones, to 10 male athletes.

Ten nominees in alphabetical order

Kristjan Ceh, SLO
– World discus champion
– Diamond League discus champion, throwing a national record 71.27m on the circuit in Birmingham
– European discus silver medallist

Alison dos Santos, BRA
– World 400m hurdles champion
– Diamond League 400m hurdles champion
– Ran a world-leading South American record of 46.29

Mondo Duplantis, SWE
– World pole vault champion indoors and outdoors
– Diamond League and European pole vault champion
– Improved his world record to 6.19m and 6.20m indoors, and then 6.21m outdoors

Soufiane El Bakkali, MAR
– World 3000m steeplechase champion
– Diamond League 3000m steeplechase champion
– Unbeaten in 2022, running a world-leading 7:58.28 in Rabat

Grant Holloway, USA
– World 110m hurdles champion
– World indoor 60m hurdles champion
– Diamond League 110m hurdles champion

Jakob Ingebrigtsen, NOR
– World 5000m champion, world 1500m silver medallist indoors and outdoors
– European 1500m and 5000m champion
– Diamond League 1500m champion in a world-leading 3:29.02

Eliud Kipchoge, KEN
– Improved his world marathon record to 2:01:09
– Berlin Marathon champion
– Tokyo Marathon champion

Noah Lyles, USA
– World 200m champion
– Diamond League 200m champion
– Ran a world-leading national record of 19.31 to move to third on the world all-time list

Anderson Peters, GRN
– World javelin champion
– Commonwealth javelin silver medallist
– Threw a world-leading NACAC record of 93.07m, moving to fifth on the world all-time list

Pedro Pichardo, POR
– World triple jump champion with a world-leading leap of 17.95m
– World indoor triple jump silver medallist
– European triple jump champion

The process

The World Athletics Council and the World Athletics Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the World Athletics social media platforms. Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube this week; a ‘like’ on Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote.

The World Athletics Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the World Athletics Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting for the World Athletes of the Year closes at midnight on Monday 31 October. At the conclusion of the voting process, five women and five men finalists will be announced by World Athletics.

The winners will be revealed on World Athletics’ social media platforms in early December.

Further information about the World Athletics Awards 2022 will be announced in the coming weeks.