© Copyright – 2022 – Athletics Illustrated

Top-three men

Ugandan Joshua Cheptegei won the 2022 Nationale-Nederlanden San Silvestre Vallecana 10K on Saturday. The 24-year-old clocked a 27:09 performance bettering 2021 winner Mohamad Katir, who clocked a 27:19 performance. Taking third was Jesus Ramos Reviejo well back at 27:52.

Katir entered the race intending to win.

They ran together for most of the race however, Cheptegei appeared stress-free while Katir was clearly working very hard.

As it appeared to play out, Katir lost the gap during the final 2K. Cheptegei earned a standing ovation upon entering the Vallecas Stadium.

Katir competes for Spain, however, is Moroccan-born. He took bronze last summer in the 1500 metre event at the Eugene World Athletics Championships and silver during the Munich European Championships in the 5000m event. This year’s edition of the San Silvestre Vallecana 10K is not valid for records, apparently, the 2021 edition is as that is where Katir set the Spanish national record according to World Athletics at 27:45.

Cheptegei holds two world records in the 5000m (12:35.36) and 10,000m (26:11.00) events. He also holds a world best over 15K at 41:05. For Cheptegei, San Silvestre was a comeback race from injury.

Reviejo is also a Spaniard. The performance was three seconds off of his personal best.

Top-three women

Prisca Chesang won the race in the time of 30:19. Burundi’s Francine Niyonsaba took second in the time of 31:16, while Kenyan Beatrice Chepkoech took third in 31:06.

Chesang at age 19 is one of the fastest U20-level middle and distance athletes in the world. Saturday’s performance is more than two minutes faster than her official personal best of 32:45, which she ran in May 2022. Chesang won bronze in back-to-back U20 World Championships in 2021 and 2022. There may be much more coming from this athlete.

Niyonsaba holds seven national records and one world-best performance from 400m to the 10,000m distance events. In a nearly unheard-of range of ability, the 28-year-old captured a bronze in the 2016 Rio Olympic Games 800m with her 1:56.49 performance. Five years later she took fifth in the 10,000m event at the Tokyo Olympic Games.

In 2018 Chepkoech set a new world record in the 3000m steeplechase, which still stands at 8:44.32. In 2020 she set the national indoor record for 1500m at 4:02.09.

World marathon record holder Brigid Kosgei holds the women’s course record with 29:54 from the 2019 running.


Pos.NameResultAve. Pace KM.
1Joshua Cheptegei0:27:092’42″/km
2Mohamed Katir El Haouzi0:27:192’43″/km
3Jesus Ramos Reviejo0:27:522’47″/km
4Sergio Paniagua Escobar0:28:002’48″/km
5Aaron De Las Heras Ruperez0:28:042’48″/km
6Carlos Mayo0:28:042’48″/km
7Ignacio Fontes-Garcia Balibrea0:28:062’48″/km
8Carlos Diaz Del Rio0:28:082’48″/km
9Nassim Hassaous Garcia0:28:132’49″/km
10Juan A. Perez Moreno0:28:182’49″/km
11Fernando Carro Morillo0:28:352’51″/km
12Jorge Blanco Alvarez0:28:362’51″/km
13Daniel Mateo Angulo0:28:372’51″/km
14Ilias Aouani0:28:452’52″/km
15Lahcen Ait Alibou Ouhada0:28:512’53″/km

Leading Results Women 10km International

Pos.NameResultAve. Pace KM.
1Prisca Chesang30:193:02/km
2Francine Niyonsaba30:583:05/km
3Beatrice Chepkoech31:063:06/km
4Mahelet Mulugeta31:573:11/km
5Naima Ait Alibou Ouhada32:493:15/km
6Laura Priego Montero32:493:16/km
7Nina Chydenius32:513:17/km
8Laura Luengo Caselles32:523:17/km
9Laura Mendez Esquer33:063:18/km
10Irene Pelayo Gonzalez33:273:20/km