The 2024 edition of the TCS Bengaluru World 10K is packed with pace. Five men and six women have entered who are credited with personal bests faster than the course records. Kenyans Nicholas Kimeli (27:38) and Irene Cheptei (30:35) have held the course record in Bengaluru since 2022. At any rate, the fields are fast.

The women

Kenyan, Emmaculate Anyango Achol, is the world’s second-fastest 10K runner. She is headlining the 16th edition of TCS World 10K Bengaluru on Sunday, Apri 28.

Anyango clocked a 28:57 performance in Valencia four months ago. She finished behind her teammate Agnes Ngetich, who posted a World Record 28:46. Anyango is a silver medallist from the 2019 African Junior Championships in the 3000m event. Anyango barely missed the Belgrade podium in this year’s World Cross Country Championships. 

Emmaculate Anyango Achol. Photo credit: Procam International

“I am very excited to be in Bengaluru for the first time for this incredible event, which has gained a worldwide reputation for being one of the best 10K races. I have heard so much about the events hosted in India and the running revolution they began nearly two decades ago. I am very much looking forward to being there and doing my best. The field of runners in the women’s category is quite strong this year and I love a good challenge,” expressed Anyango. 

Five of her countrymates will also take the women’s starting line-up in Bengaluru. They all have faster performances than the current event course record (30:35). Kenya will field a stacked team with Lilian Rengeruk Kasait (29:32) leading. As well as Faith Chepkoech (29:50), Loice Chemnung (29:57), Cintia Chepngeno (30:08), and Grace Nawowuna (30:27). Anyango’s inclusion in this line-up suggests a power-packed elite women’s race that may set numerous records. 

Rengeruk and Chepngeno competed in Valencia, while Chepkoech and Chemnung clocked their bests from Castellon and Paris. Nawowuna did it in Lille, France. Two Ethiopians, Aberash Minsewo, this year’s Tata Mumbai Marathon winner, and Lemlem Hailu, 2022 World Indoor 3000m champion, add depth to the women’s start lists.  

Peter Mwanki. Photo credit: Procam International

The men

Meanwhile, in the elite men’s lineup, Kenya’s Peter Mwaniki Aila age 29, entered with the fastest personal best among the men at 26:59. He achieved this mark while finishing third earlier this year in Valencia, in January. In the process, Aila became the 19th runner in the World to run the 10K distance in under 27 minutes. 

Fellow Kenyan and 2019 African Junior champion over 10,000m, Bravin Kipkogei Kiptoo is fast. He is credited with a 27:02 from Madrid last year. Also, there is Bravin Kiprop, who clocked an impressive 27:16 this February at Castellon, Spain. He should keep the race interesting.   

Two more Kenyans, including Hillary Chepkwony and Patrick Mosin, will run well. Chepkwony is last year’s third-place finisher. Mosin was the runner-up in Castellon the previous year. Two young runners, John Wele from Tanzania and Boki Diriba from Ethiopia may also threaten the Kenyans.  

The TCS World 10K Bengaluru will award a total prize pot of USD 210,000. The winners in the men’s and women’s categories will each take home USD 26,000.  A course record bonus of USD 8,000 is also in the offing.  

International elite athletes


1.     Peter Mwaniki                            KEN/1994          26:59

2.     Bravin Kipkogei                          KEN/2001          27:02 

3.     Bravin Kiprop                             KEN/1998          27:16

4.     Patrick Mosin                             KEN/2000          27:26

5.     Hillary Chepkwony                     KEN/1999          27:34

6.     John Wele                                  TAN/2006          28:14

7.     Boki Diriba                                  ETH/2004          28:25


1.   Emmaculate Anyango Achol       KEN/2000          28:57

2.   Lilian Kasait Rengeruk                 KEN/1997          29:32

3.   Faith Chepkoech                          KEN/2003          29:50

4.   Loice Chemnung                          KEN/1997          29:57

5.  Cintia Chepngeno                         KEN/2000          30:08

6.  Grace Nawowuna                         KEN/2003          30:27 

7.  Aberash Minsewo                         ETH/2001          30:58

8.   Lemlem Hailu                               ETH/2001          31:37

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.