Press release – Athletics Canada

As the 2023 outdoor season gets started around the world, Athletics Canada looked back one more time at an exceptional 2022 season, announcing its annual award winners.
Earning her first Jack W. Davies Trophy as Athletics Canada Athlete of the Year is Camryn Rogers. In a season with multiple strong candidates making a case for the honour, Rogers rose above, setting a new Canadian Record in the Hammer Throw with a mammoth throw of 75.33 metres in Langley, BC last June.

Teamwork was the name of the game for the Cal D. Bricker Trophy, awarded to the Performance of the Year. The men’s 4 x 100-metre relay team scored that honour on the strength of their World Championship title in Eugene, Oregon last July.
Marco Arop earned the Phil A. Edwards Trophy, as Track Athlete of the Year. Arop completed a season of consistent excellence ranked #2 in the world in the men’s 800 metres.
By becoming the first Canadian woman to throw over 20 metres in the shot put, Sarah Mitton won the F.N.A. Rowell Trophy as Field Athlete of the Year.
Pierce LePage stepped onto the World Championships podium for the first time last July, cementing his Lyle Sanderson Award, as Combined Events Athlete of the Year.
Cam Levins wins another tight race, distinguishing himself as the Off Track Athlete of the Year and owner of the Fred Begley Memorial Trophy, after spending the 2022 season setting a new Canadian Record in the marathon, taking the national half marathon crown and finishing 4th at Worlds.
Rowan Hamilton is your 2022 Dr. Fred Tees Memorial Trophy winner as Canadian University Athlete of the Year. Hamilton finished the season as top male Hammer thrower among all collegiate divisions and setting a new NAIA record of 75.98m.
By virtue of his relay bronze medal U20 World Championships, Tyler Floyd was awarded the Eric E. Coy Trophy as Junior Athlete of the Year.
The top Youth Athlete of the Year in 2022, and recipient of the Myrtle Cook Trophy is Trinity Shadd-Ceres, who earned 1104 World Athletics points on the season and scored a long jump of 6.47 metres.
Liam Stanley can add the title of Para-Athlete of the Year Award in Ambulatory Events to his long resume or podium performances and world records.
The Para-Athlete of the Year Award in Wheelchair Events was awarded to Sarah Mickey after her national championship in Seated Wheelchair Throws Shot Put and Discus, as well as her 5th-place finish at the Commonwealth Games.
Glenroy Gilbert took home the Dr. Doug Clement Award as Coach of the Year, in recognition of the team’s stellar performance at the World Championships, based on coaching strategy and decisions made for the athletes to perform at their best.
Garrett Collier was named the Jane and Gerry Swann Award winner as Development Coach of the Year for his outstanding work developing other 2022 award winners Camryn Rogers and Rowan Hamilton.