© Copyright – 2021 – Athletics Illustrated

Geneviève Lalonde broke Regan Yee’s Canadian record in the 3000m steeplechase and finished fourth in her heat at the Tokyo Olympic Games during her effort to advance to the final in the event.

Lalonde clocked a 9:22.64. She held the national record until Yee bettered it during the Canadian Olympics Trials on June 29 in Montreal at 9:27.54.

Winfred Yavi of Bahrain won the Heat 3 (where Lalonde finished fourth) in the time of 9:10.80. Her personal best is 9:02.64. Kenyan Peruth Chemutai finished second in 9:12.72, while American Ema Coburn clocked a 9:16.91. The final goes Wednesday, August 4th.

Results from all heats is here>>

MORNING SESSION
LOCAL TIMESEXEVENTROUNDATHLETE
9:35 (JST)
20:35 (Aug. 1 – EDT)
W1500mHeatsGabriela DeBues-Stafford
(Heat 1)
Natalia Hawthorn
(Heat 2)
Lucia Stafford
(Heat 3)
10:30 (JST)
21:30 (Aug. 1 – EDT)
W200mHeatsCrystal Emmanuel
(Heat 6)
EVENING SESSION
LOCAL TIMESEXEVENTROUNDATHLETE
19:20 (JST)
6:20 (EDT)
WPole vaultQualificationAlysha Newman
(Group A)
Anicka Newell
(Group B)
19:25 (JST)
6:25 (EDT)
W200mSemi-FinalCrystal Emmanuel*
20:35 (JST)
7:35 (EDT)
W400mHSemi-FinalSage Watson
(Heat 1)
21:15 (JST)
8:15 (EDT)
M3000mSCFinalJohn Gay
Matthew Hughes
21:40 (JST)
8:40 (EDT)
W5000mFinalAndrea Seccafien

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.