The men

The Norweigan team competing in the 2024 European Athletics Championships from June 7 to June 12 includes a total of 52 athletes.

As expected Team Norway is headlined by reigning European champions Jakob Ingebrigtsen who is seeking his third successive 1500/5000m double and Karsten Warholm, the two-time reigning champion in the 400m hurdles.

Fellow medal winners from Munich 2022 Zerei Kbrom, who won silver in the 10,000m but will contest the half marathon in Rome. Unlike the Olympics and other global events, the half-marathon is contested in the European Championships. Otherwise, the 21.1 kilometre world championship is a separate standalone event.

Medallists Eivind Henriksen (hammer) and Pal Haugen Lillefosse (pole vault) are also part of the team.

Other medal candidates include Markus Rooth and Sander Skotheim in the decathlon, three-time SPAR European cross country champion Karoline Bjerkeli Grøvdal in the 5000m and half marathon, world 1500m bronze medallist Narve Gilje Nordas who has entered both the 1500m and 5000m and former European marathon record-holder Sondre Nordstad Moen in the half marathon.

One of the breakthrough stars of the year Henriette Jaeger has entered the 200m, 400m as well as the 4x400m. 

Ingebrigtsen is coming off a loss at the 2024 Prefontaine Classic in Eugene, Oregon to British runner Josh Kerr. He will be tough to beat in Rome in the 1500m and is the overwhelming favourite in the 5000m.

Grøvdal will be a medal favourite. She currently holds seven national records from 2000m to the 10km road race. Her best event is in the 5000m. Two years ago she ran her best at the Bisslett Games in Oslo clocking a 14:31.07 performance. Her half marathon best is 1:07:31 from the 2023 running of the Copenhagen Half Marathon in Sept.


Mathias Hove Johansen, IL Skjalg: 200 metres.
Håvard Bentdal Ingvaldsen, Moelven IL: 400 metres.
Andreas Grimerud, Moelven IL: 400 metres.
Tobias Grønstad, IK Tjalve: 800 metres.
Ole Jakob Høsteland Solbu, Ås IL: 800 metres.
Jakob Asserson Ingebrigtsen, Sandnes IL: 1500 metres and 5000 metres.
Narve Gilje Nordås, Sandnes IL: 1500 metres and 5000 metres.
Henrik Børkja Ingebrigtsen, Sandnes IL: 5000 metres.
Per Svela, IL Norna-Salhus: 5000 metres.
Bjørnar Sandnes Lillefosse, IL Gular: 10,000 metres.
Vladimir Vukicevic, SK Vidar: 110 meter hurdles.
Karsten Warholm, Dimna IL: 400 metre hurdles.
Jacob Boutera, Ullensaker/Kisa IL: 3000 metre hurdles.
Fredrik Sandvik, Ullensaker/Kisa IL: 3000 metre hurdles.
Tom Erling Kårbø, Stord IL: 3000 metre hurdles.
Zerei Kbrom Mezngi, IL Skjalg: Half marathon.
Sondre Nordstad Moen, SK Vidar: Half marathon.
Awet Nftalem Kibrab, Ullensaker/Kisa IL: Half marathon, reserve 5000 metres.
Weldu Negash Gebretsadik, IL in BUL: Half marathon.
Ingar Bratseth-Kiplesund, SK Vidar: Length.
Henrik Flåtnes, Tønsberg Athletics Club: Length.
Simen Guttormsen, SK Vidar: Pole vault.
Pål Haugen Lillefosse, Fana IL: High jump.
Marcus Thomsen, IL Norna-Salhus: Shotput.
Eivind Prestegård Henriksen, IK Tjalve: Hammer.
Thomas Mardal, Gloppen FILE: Hammer.
Kasper Sagen, IL in BUL: Javelin.
Ola Stunes Isene, IF Sturla: Discus.
Markus Rooth, IK Tjalve: Decathlon.
Sander Aae Skotheim, IK Tjalve: Decathlon.

The women

Helene Rønningen, IL Tyrving: 100 metres.
Christine Bjelland Jensen, IL Norna-Salhus: 200 metres.
Henriette Jæger, Aremark IF: 200 metres, 400 metres and 4 x 400 metres.
Astri Ayo Lakeri Ertzgaard, IK Tjalve: 400 metres and 4 x 400 metres.
Ingeborg Østgård, IK Tjalve: 1500 metres
Amalie Manshaus Sæten, Ullensaker/Kisa IL: 1500 metres and 5000 metres.
Karoline Bjerkeli Grøvdal, IK Tjalve: 5000 metres and half marathon.
Kristine Eikrem Engeset, IL Norna-Salhus: 5000 metres.
Hanne Mjøen Maridal, Strindheim IL: 10,000 metres and half marathon.
Lovise Skarbøvik Andersen, Dimna IL: 100 metre hurdles.
Amalie Hammild Iuel, IK Tjalve: 400 metres hurdles and 4 x 400 metres.
Elisabeth Slettum, IL Skjalg: 400 metres hurdles and 4 x 400 metres.
Line Kloster, SK Vidar: 400 metres hurdles and 4 x 400 metres.
Maria Sagnes Wågan, Namdal Running Club: Half marathon.
Lene Onsrud Retzius, IL in BUL: High jump.
Kitty Augusta Friele Faye, Fana IL: High jump.
Beatrice Nedberge Llano, Laksevåg TO: Hammer throw.
Sigrid Borge, IK Tjalve: Javelin.
Marie-Therese Obst, IK Tjalve: Javelin.
Linn Oppegård, Moss IL: 4 x 400 metres.
Laura Tietje Johanna van der Veen, IK Tjalve: 4 x 400 metres.
Josefine Tomine Eriksen, Sem IF: 4 x 400 metres.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.