As the world of athletics awaits the results of a meeting between the World Anti-Doping Agency, World Athletics, the Athletics Integrity Unit (AIU), and Athletics Kenya (AK), on the fate of AK, here is a list of currently suspended athletes. Approximately 30 have been suspended or provisionally suspended during 2022. Approximately, 70 have been suspended since the start of the pandemic.

The meeting on Tuesday, November 29 is about finding a way for Kenya to clean up its act.

The country is one of seven on the AIU’s Category-A watchlist, deemed as a risk for doping.

There has been much talk about a potential two-to-three-year ban on Kenya as well as the “unmasking” of some top-level athletes.

The running world awaits.

Current sanctioned Kenyan athletes

S/NNameGenderSanction period
1Lilian Moraa MariitaF8 Year Sanction 15.08.2015 – 13.08.2023
2Emily Chebet MugeF4 Year Sanction 17.07.2015 – 16.07.2019
3Agnes Jepkosgei CheserekF4 Year Sanction 17/10/2015 – 16/10/2019
4Joyce Sakari NakhuminchaF4 Year Sanction 25.08.2015 – 24.08.2019
5Francisca Koki ManungaF4 Year Sanction 25.08.2015 – 24.08.2019
6Joseph Gitau KariukiM4 year sanction from 08.01.2017 to 08.01.2021
7Shieys ChepkosgeiF4 years from 26.12.2016 to 26.12.2020
8Philles Nyansiaboka MoritiF4 years sanction from 07.06.2016 to 06.06.2020
9Sharon Ndinda MuliF4 year sanction from 06.12.2016 to 06.12.2020
10Jemimah SumgongF4 year sanction from 03.04.2017 to 03.04.2021
11Ken KiruiM4 year sanction from 21.07.2016 to 21.07.2020
12Kennedy Lagat KipyegoM4 years ending 01.08.2020
13Sarah KibetF2 year sanction from 07.07.17 to 06.07.19
14Vincent KipchirchirM4 years sanction from 12.11.2016 to 13.11.2020
15Nicholas Kiplagat KosgeiM2 years sanction from 25.07.17 to 24.07.19
16Lazarus TooM2 years sanction from 07.07.17 to 06.07.2019
17Duncan Ayiemba ( Coach to Fedinand Omanyala )M2 years sanction from 18.09.2017 to 17.09.2019
18Edwin KipyegoM4 years sanction from 07.07.2017 to 06.07.2021
19Micah Kiplagat SamoeiM2 years sanction from 12.04.17 to 11.04.19
20Nelly JepkuruiF1 year 8months sanction from 03.07.17 to 03.03.19
21Peter Kiptoo KiplagatM4 years sanction from 09.03.2018 to 08.03.2022
22Benjamin Ngandu NdegwaM4 years sanction with effect from 17.11.2017 to 16.11.2021
23Luka Kanda LokobeM4 years sanction from 05.02.2018 to 04.02.2022
24Luka Rotich LubowanM4 years sanction from 13.04.2018 to12.04.2022
25Samuel KalaleiM4 years sanction from 08.04.2018 to 07.04.2022
26Ruth Wanjiru KuriaF16 months from 28.01.2018 to 27.07.2019
27Eliud Matu WeruM2 years sanction from 5.11.2017 to 4.11.2019
28Isaac KipkoechM18months sanction from 08.10.17 to 07.04.19
29Kipyegon BettM4 years sanction from 15.08.18 to 14.08.22
30Rose Jepchoge MaruF2 years from 20.06.2018 to 19.06.2020
31Ronald Kiptai MatakatM2 years from 17.03.18 to 16.03.2020
32Eric Muthomi RiunguM2 years from 03.10.17 to 02.10.19
33Bernard Kipkemoi BosubenM4 years from 1.11.2015 to 31.10.2019
34Abigael JeropF1 year from 1.04.2018 to 02.04.2019
35Suleiman Kipkesis SimotwoM4 years sanction from 14.07.2017 to14.07.2021
36Lucy Kabuu WanguiF2 years from 01.08.2018 to 31.07.2020
37Daniel Rotich CheboleiM4 years from 03.07.2018 to 03.07.2022
38Daniel Kipchirchir BiiM4 years from 03.07.2018 to 03.07.2022
39Victor Wachira MianoM4 years from 03.07.2018 to 02.07.2022
40Hillary Kipkosgei YegoM4 years from 27.04.2017 to 03.04.2021
41Purity Jerono TalamF4 years from 12.01.2018 to 12.01.2022
42Magut Kipsoi KwambaiM2 years from 14.07.2017 to 14.07.2019
43Kiplagat Bisluke KipkorirM4 years from 23.10.2016 to 23.10.2020
44Irene Jeptoo KipchumbaF2 years from 22.09.2017 to 23.09.2019
45Caroline Chepkirui YatichF4 years from 4.11.2017 to 5.11.2021
46Asbel KipropM4 years from 2.02.2018 to 3.02.2022