This Sunday, the 45th Zurich Marató Barcelona started its new course at a record pace.

Fifth male record for the race in five years

For the fourth consecutive year, the men’s and women’s records of the Zurich Marató Barcelona, have been broken. In the men’s category, the Eritrean athlete with Swiss nationality, Abraham Tadesse, managed to beat the previous best time of this race (2:05:01), five seconds below the time set in 2023 by Marius Kimutai (2:05:06). In second place was the Kenyan Collins Kipkurui Kipkorir (2:06:41) and third was his compatriot Edmond Kipngetich (2:07:21). The three athletes who completed the podium ran together at the head of the race until the 35th kilometre. Then Tadesse broke away to enter the finish line alone.

Tadesse said, “I wanted to win Barcelona again and I have achieved it. I won the half-marathon of this city in 2015 and today, nine years later and almost 42 years old, I can assure that nothing is impossible, age is just a number. I was able to set the course record and I would like to come back to this race to try to finish in 2 hours and 4 minutes”.

The women’s race

In the women’s race, Ethiopian athlete Degitu Azimeraw won in 2:19:52, eight seconds behind the course record set last year by Zeineba Yimer Worku (2:19:44). In second place, her compatriot Shuko Genemo Wote, crossed the finish line (2:21:35). Meseret Dinke Meleka, also Ethiopian and athlete of On, was the third finisher (2:22:58). The Ethiopian women led the women’s elite group throughout the race, until just before 30K, when Azimeraw took the lead alone towards the finish line.

Degitu Azimeraw, “I am very happy to have won in Barcelona. I really liked the course. I will try to repeat next year because it is a course that I think can be run even faster and I would like to beat the course record next time”.

Also, this Sunday the 46th Catalan Marathon Championship was celebrated in the 45th Zurich Marató Barcelona. A championship in which Artur Bossy won in the absolute male category (2:19:11) and for the absolute female category the winner was Jessica Tipán (2:48:21).