By Christopher Moulton

Athletes from eight countries have committed to compete in the 2014 Speed River Inferno Track and Field Meet Presented by New Balance, May 31st at the University of Guelph’s Alumni Stadium.

Over 75 athletes in all have confirmed their involvement, including four Olympians led by local athletes Taylor Milne and Alex Genest.

Confirmed athletes represent Guyana, Jamaica, Uganda, the United States, United Kingdom, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands and Canada.   “We are thrilled to have such great athletes coming to Guelph to compete.  These 19 international athletes and the over 50 confirmed Canadian athletes are going to put on a great show for the people of Guelph and the surrounding area.  We continue to reach out to other international and Canadian athletes as we aim to build our fields, we expect to have more announcements in the coming weeks” commented meet director Chris Moulton on the announcement.  Tickets for the event are available at Guelph Scotiabank locations or online through the meet’s website

Confirmed International Athletes

Winston George – Men’s 200- Olympian Guyana

Julius Mutekanga– Men’s 800- Olympian Uganda

Kevin Thompson– Men’s 200- Jamaica

Sean Atkinson– Men’s 400 Hurdles- USA

Lucas Manring– Men’s 800- USA

Lamont Marshall– Men’s 1500- Bermuda

Sean Keveren– Men’s 5000- USA

Riley Northrup– Men’s High Jump- USA

Ashley Kelly– Women’s 200- British Virgin Islands

Sharay Hale– Women’s 200- USA

Lorain McKenzie– Women’s 800- Jamaica

Stephanie Herrick– Women’s 800- USA

Lauren Hagans– Women’s 800- USA

Natalie Picchetti– Women’s 800- USA

Sarah Madebach– Women’s 5000- USA

Danielle Burke– Women’s 5000- USA

Rachel Felton– Women’s 5000- UK

Anita Rogers– Women’s Long Jump- USA

Nyeisha Wright– Women’s Long Jump- USA

Notable Confirmed Canadian Athletes

Taylor Milne– Men’s Steeple- Olympian

Alex Genest– Men’s Steeple- Olympian

Tyler MacLeod– Men’s 200

Anthony Romaniw– Men’s 800

Mathieu Strukenboom– Men’s 800

Scott Leitch– Men’s 800

Ross Proudfoot– Men’s 1500

Jeremy Rae– Men’s 1500

Charles Philibert-Thibout– Men’s 1500

Chris Winter– Men’s Steeple

Andrew Nixon– Men’s 5000

Aaron Hendrikx– Men’s 5000

Peter Corrigan– Men’s 5000

Tristan Woodfine– Men’s 5000

Hussein Hashi– Men’s 5000

Paul Galas– Men’s High Jump

Phillipe St Hilaire– Men’s High Jump

Marie Colombe– Women’s 200

Rachel Aubry– Women’s 800

Katelyn Ayers– Women’s 800

Chantelle Groenewoud– Women’s Steeple

Genevieve Lalonde– Women’s Steeple

Julie-Anne Staehli– Women’s Steeple

Andrea Seccafien– Women’s 5000

Rachel Hannah– Women’s 5000

Carise Thompson– Women’s 5000

Julia Wallace– Women’s Long Jump

Caroline Ehrahdt– Women’s Long Jump

Jen Cotton– Women’s Long Jump