UK Athletics has announced the Great Britain and Northern Ireland team for the European Indoor Championships, Istanbul, Turkey (2-5 March).

UKA’s aim when selecting the team is to maximise the number of medals won, whilst also providing a development opportunity for athletes capable of finishing in the top eight at the Championships.

Reigning European Indoor champion Keely Hodgkinson (coach: Trevor Painter, club: Leigh) and four-time champion Laura Muir (Andy Young, Dundee Hawkhill) are included in the team heading to the Championships next month and go into the event as the 2023 European leads.

Morgan Lake (Robbie Grabarz, Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow), who set an outright British record with a clearance of 1.99m earlier this month, will compete in the women’s high jump, while UK Indoor champion Jazmin Sawyers (Aston Moore, City of Stoke) goes into the event after a strong start to the season, jumping an indoor personal best of 6.75m earlier this month.

Stephen Maguire, Technical Director at UKA, said,

“I have been pleased to see that a number of athletes have stepped up during this indoor season, which means we are able to select a team who have demonstrated current form this year to be in the best position to perform competitively on the European stage.

“We have a really exciting group of athletes in this team which includes global stars, and also a number of athletes who are continuing their development in the sport and they will learn a lot from this Championship experience.

“Historically, this has been a Championship in which the Great Britain and Northern Ireland team has thrived, and I am confident the selection panel has selected a squad which will be battling for medals and reaching finals in Istanbul.”

The Great Britain and Northern Ireland team for the European Indoor Championships, Istanbul, Turkey (2-5 March):



Daryll Neita (Marco Airale, Cambridge Harriers)

Asha Philip (Amy Deem, Newham and Essex Beagles)


Isabelle Boffey (Luke Gunn, Enfield & Haringey)

Keely Hodgkinson (Trevor Painter, Leigh)


Ellie Baker (Jon Bigg, Shaftesbury Barnet)

Laura Muir (Andy Young, Dundee Hawkhill)

Katie Snowden (Stephen Haas, Herne Hill)


Melissa Courtney-Bryant (Rob Denmark, Poole)

Hannah Nuttall (Helen Clitheroe, Charnwood)

Long Jump

Jazmin Sawyers (Aston Moore, City of Stoke)

High Jump

Morgan Lake (Robbie Grabarz, Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow)


Holly Mills (Laura Turner-Alleyne, Andover)

4x400m Relay

Mary Abichi (Lorna Boothe, Enfield & Haringey)

Hannah Kelly (Les Hall, Bolton)

Nicole Kendall (Richard Holt, Thames Valley)

Carys McAulay (Nick Dakin, Trafford)

Hayley McLean (Chris Zah, Shaftesbury Barnet)



Eugene Amo-Dadzie (Steve Fudge, Woodford Green Essex Ladies)

Jeremiah Azu (Marco Airale, Cardiff)

Reece Prescod (Marco Airale, Enfield & Haringey)


Guy Learmonth (Justin Rinaldi, Lasswade)


Neil Gourley (Stephen Haas, Giffnock North)

George Mills (Thomas Dreißigacker, Brighton Phoenix)


Jack Rowe (Tim Eglen, Aldershot Farnham and District)

James West (Helen Clitheroe, Tonbridge)

60m Hurdles

David King (Tim O’Neil, City of Plymouth)

4x400m Relay

Joe Brier (Matt Elias, Swansea)

Lewis Davey (Trevor Painter, Newham and Essex Beagles)

Ben Higgins (Stewart Marshall, Sheffield & Dearne)

Samuel Reardon (Nigel Stickings, Blackheath & Bromley)

Lee Thompson (John Henson, Sheffield & Dearne)

Team Staff

Team Leader: Stephen Maguire

Team Coaches: Jon Bigg, Darren Campbell, Nick Dakin, Robbie Grabarz, Aston Moore and Steve Vernon

Medical Team: James Brown (Doctor), James Hedger (Therapist), Milly Pamment (Biomechanist), George Polglass (Therapist) and Laura Street (Therapist).

Team Management: Lorna Dwyer and Ethan Walker