Global Sports Communications

This Friday, 12th of August, the athletics program at the Olympic Games will start. Global Sports Communication has a very diverse group of athletes as they represent 20 countries who will compete in 32 different athletic events. GSC is also very proud to be part of the Chinese team and to represent all athletes of the People’s Republic of China. The GSC team consist of eight managers, coaches and a physiotherapist to give the athletes the best possible support in Rio de Janeiro.

The first Olympic final will be an exciting 10,000m final with Almaz Ayana. Although it will only be her second 10,000m, the Ethiopian will be one of the favorites for gold. This year she made her 10,000m debut and clocked an impressive 30:07.00 at the Ethiopian trials. The reigning world champion and world leader will compete in the 5000m later as well. “I prepared for the Olympics the whole winter and I only ran four races this season. My training went well, I feel fresh and I am looking forward doing well in Rio.”

The men’s 10,000m final will be one day later where Geoffrey Kamworor hopes to finish one place higher than at the world championships last year where he took the silver medal behind Mo Farah. The reigning world cross country and world half marathon champion has confidence that the Kenyan team will bring home the golden medal. World leader Yigrem Demelash will also line up.

Colombian Caterine Ibarguen hopes to put the crown on all her hard work on the third day of the Olympics. She is the double world champion, Olympic silver medalist of London and the world leader in the triple jump. In the past four years she has won 34 out of 35 competitions in the triple jump. “Since London 2012 I have been working very hard for Rio de Janeiro. This is where it all should happen and I hope to win the only gold medal that I am missing. I hope to make Colombia proud again!”

The women’s steeple chase final will be an interesting final where GSC represents the full Kenyan team, including world champion Hyvin Kiyeng. The Kenyan team will work together to bring home the medals. In the women’s 1500m GSC represents two of the best athletes at the moment. World leader Faith Kipyegon and world indoor champion Sifan Hassan.

The men’s marathon will take place on the final day of the Olympic Games. In the past four world championships and the 2012 Olympics an athlete represented by GSC won the golden medal. This time, Olympic champion Stephen Kiprotich hopes to successfully retain his title but he will face stiff competition from London winner and world leader Eliud Kipchoge, world champion Ghirmay Ghebreslassie and Dubai and Hamburg marathon winner Tesfaye Abera.

Apart from these experienced athletes, there will be a big group of new talents who will try to surprise the world in Rio de Janeiro. We wish our athletes all the best at the Olympic Games!

Our list of athletes competing at the Olympic Games can be found below.

List of athletes

Michael Shelley AUS Marathon M
Ana Cláudia Lemos BRA 100m & 4x100m relay W
Thiago André BRA 1500m M
Lutimar Paes BRA 800m M
Mimi Belete BRN 5000m W
Caterine Ibarguen COL Triple Jump W
Yordanys Duranona DMA Triple Jump M
Mumin Gala DJI Marathon M
Abrar Osman ERI 5000m M
Hiskel Tewelde ERI 5000m M
Ghirmay Ghebreslassie ERI Marathon M
Orlando Ortega ESP 110m Hurdles M
Almaz Ayana ETH 10,000m & 5000m W
Besu Sado ETH 1500m W
Hiwot Ayalew ETH 3000mSC W
Sofia Assefa ETH 3000mSC W
Gudaf Tsegay ETH 800m W
Habitam Alemu ETH 800m W
Abadi Hadis ETH 10,000m M
Yigrem Demelash ETH 10,000m M
Mekonnen Gebremedhin ETH 1500m M
Tesfaye Abera ETH Marathon M
Laura Weightman GBR 1500m W
Shelayna Oskan-Clarke GBR 800m W
Ross Millington GBR 10,000m M
Charlie Grice GBR 1500m M
Paul Pollock IRL Marathon M
Faith Kipyegon KEN 1500m W
Beatrice Chepkoech KEN 3000mSC W
Hyvin Kiyeng KEN 3000mSC W
Lydia Rotich KEN 3000mSC W
Geoffrey Kamworor KEN 10,000m M
Ronald Kwemoi KEN 1500m M
Brimin Kipruto KEN 3000mSC M
Phillip Kipyeko KEN 5000m M
Eliud Kipchoge KEN Marathon M
Stephen Kiprotich KEN Marathon M
Jip Vastenburg NED 10,000m W
Susan Kuijken NED 10,000m & 5000m W
Sifan Hassan NED 800m & 1500m W
Naomi Sedney NED 4x100m Relay W
Laura de Witte NED 4x400m Relay W
Nicky van Leuveren NED 4x400m Relay W
Femke Pluim NED Pole Vault W
Abdi Nageeye NED Marathon M
Marcin Lewandowski POL 800m M
Ancuta Bobocel ROU 3000mSC W
Bianca Razor ROU 400m W
Alina Rotaru ROU Long Jump W
Marius Ionescu ROU Marathon M
Sunette Viljoen RSA Javelin Throw W
Diana Phalula RSA Marathon W
Irvette van Zyl RSA Marathon W
Elroy Gelant RSA 10,000m M
LJ van Zyl RSA 400m Hurdles M
Rynhardt van Rensburg RSA 800m M
Willem Coertzen RSA Decathlon M
Rocco van Rooyen RSA Javelin Throw M
Luvo Manyonga RSA Long Jump M
Lungile Gongqa RSA Marathon M
Sibusiso Nzima RSA Marathon M
Sarah Lahti SWE 10,000m W
Peruth Chemtai UGA 3000mSC W
Stella Chesang UGA 5000m W
Halima Nakaayi UGA 800m W
Winnie Nanyondo UGA 800m W
Nyakisi Adero UGA Marathon W
Joshua Cheptegei UGA 10,000m & 5000m M
Moses Kurong UGA 10,000m M
Ronald Musagala UGA 1500m M
Benjamin Kiplagat UGA 3000mSC M

Comments are closed.