© Copyright – 2022 – Athletics Illustrated

The Italian sprinting phenom, Lamont Marcell Jacobs, has pulled out of the Prefontaine Classic in Eugene, Oregon. American Trayvon Bromell will take his spot on the roster. Bromell is a World Championships bronze medallist and has run as fast as 9.76.

Jacobs sustained an injury during his 100-metre win in Savona, Italy last week.

The 27-year-old is the Tokyo Olympic 100m champion, earning the gold medal in the time of 9.80. He was also a member of the gold-medal-winning 4 x 100m team in Tokyo.

He complained of a lack of sharpness after Savona, having run 10.04.

Jacobs is the national record holder in the 100m and 4 x 100m events.

The Prefontaine Classic will take place May 27 and 28 in Eugene at Hayward Field. The meet is offering world record attempts in the women’s two-mile by Francine Niyonsaba, women’s 5000m by Letesenbet Gidey, and the men’s 5000m by Joshua Cheptegei.

The meet also offers stacked fields in various other events including the women’s 100m, women’s 200m and the men’s 5000m featuring North America’s all-time fastest at the distance, Canada’s Mo Ahmed.

The women’s 1500m includes Canada’s Gabriela DeBues-Stafford, holder of seven national records. Also, Scotland’s Laura Muir is racing, she is the Tokyo Olympic silver medallist in the event. Kenya’s Faith Kipyegon — the Rio and Tokyo Olympic gold medallist — is also competing, which should make for an exciting race.

Women’s two-mile

Mizan Alem

Anna Camp Bennett

Beatrice Chebet

Ella Donaghu

Eleanor Fulton

Laura Galván

Sifan Hassan

Elly Henes

Edinah Jebitok

Daisy Jepkemei

Dani Jones

Konstanze Klosterhalfen

Francine Niyonsaba

Whittni Orton Morgan

Helen Schlachtenhaufen

Taryn Rawlings

Women’s 5000m

Winny Chebet

Rahel Daniel

Teresiah Muthoni Gateri

Letesenbet Gidey

Lemlem Hailu

Caroline Chepkoech Kipkirui

Rebecca Mehra

Rebecca Mwangi

Ejgayehu Taye

Fantu Worku

Men’s 5000m

Thiago Andre

Sam Atkin

Joshua Cheptegei

Edward Cheserek

Daniel Simiu Ebenyo

Mason Ferlic

Benson Kiplangat

Mark Owon Lomuket

Hassan Mead

Nibret Melak

Milkesa Mengesha

Abdesamad Oukhelfen

Zouhair Talbi

Also, the meet is putting on the USATF 10,000m Championships.

Men’s 10,000m

Men 10,000m
Grant FisherNIKE / Bowerman Track Club26:33.84qualifieddeclared
William KincaidNIKE / Bowerman Track Club27:12.78qualifieddeclared
Benjamin TrueASICS / Northwoods Athletics27:14.95qualifieddeclared
Sean McGortyNIKE / Bowerman Track Club27:18.15qualifieddeclared
Emmanuel Bor27:22.80qualifieddeclared
Joe KleckerOn Athletics Club27:23.44qualifieddeclared
Shadrack KipchirchirAmerican Distance Project27:24.93qualifieddeclared
Conner MantzNIKE27:25.23qualifieddeclared
Sam ChelangaU.S. Army27:33.77qualifieddeclared
Dillon Maggard27:37.26qualifieddeclared
Lopez LomongNIKE / Bowerman Track Club27:39.96qualifieddeclared
Connor McMillan27:40.55qualifieddeclared
Frank LaraAltra27:43.13qualifieddeclared
Jacob ThomsonUnder Armour27:57.32accepteddeclared
Abbabiya SimbassaUnder Armour / Dark Sky Distance27:59.94accepteddeclared
Benjamin Eidenschink28:00.54accepteddeclared
Zachery PanningHansons-Brooks Distance Project28:01.80accepteddeclared
John ReniewickiUnder Armour28:15.65accepteddeclared
Tai DingerWisconsin Runner Racing Team28:19.79accepteddeclared
Geoffrey KipchumbaU.S. Army28:22.84accepteddeclared
Aidan ReedRoots Running Project28:44.68accepteddeclared
Ryan KutchCentral Park Track Club (CPTC) – Tracksmith28:45.49accepteddeclared
Robert BrandtUnder Armour27:39.20qualifiedscratched

Women’s 10,000m

Women 10,000m
Elise CrannyNIKE / Bowerman Track Club30:14.66qualifieddeclared
Karissa SchweizerNIKE / Bowerman Track Club30:47.99qualifieddeclared
Emily InfeldNIKE31:08.57qualifieddeclared
Alicia MonsonOn Athletics Club31:10.84qualifieddeclared
Weini KelatiUnder Armour / Dark Sky Distance31:11.11qualifieddeclared
Natosha RogersHansons-Brooks Distance Project31:12.28qualifieddeclared
Ednah KurgatU.S. Army31:21.65qualifieddeclared
Sarah Lancaster31:21.75qualifieddeclared
Marielle HallNIKE31:21.78qualifieddeclared
Paige StonerReebok Boston Track Club31:22.55qualifieddeclared
Danielle ShanahanHOKA / HOKA NAZ Elite31:22.86qualifieddeclared
Stephanie BruceHOKA NAZ Elite31:24.47qualifieddeclared
Emily Lipariadidas / Golden Coast Track Club31:24.82qualifieddeclared
Makena MorleyASICS31:25.19qualifieddeclared
Emily Durginadidas31:33.83qualifieddeclared
Carrie VerdonT.E.A.M Boulder31:37.26qualifieddeclared
Olivia PrattHansons-Brooks Distance Project31:48.72accepteddeclared
Susanna Sullivan31:56.38accepteddeclared
Katrina CooganNew Balance / New Balance Boston31:56.59accepteddeclared
Molly GrabillRISE Athletics31:57.72accepteddeclared
Jeralyn Poe31:59.49accepteddeclared
Madeline Alm32:01.28accepteddeclared
Margareta Montoya32:06.37accepteddeclared
Caroline SangU.S. Army32:27.40accepteddeclared
Amelia PaladinoNew Balance Boston31:19.92qualifiedscratched
Erika KempBoston Athletic Association31:35.63qualifiedscratched
Maya WeigelPeninsula Distance Club32:14.23not qualifiedscratched