Athletics Canada named nine athletes today who will represent Canada at the 2014 IAAF World Indoor Championships in Sopot, Poland, March 7 to 9. A trio of 2013 IAAF World Outdoor Championships medallists will lead the team into competition. Brianne Theisen-Eaton of Humboldt, Sask., won silver in Moscow in the heptathlon while Damian Warner of London, Ont., took bronze in the decathlon. Gavin Smellie of Etobicoke, Ont., won bronze as a member of the 4×100-metres relay team.

“We are sending a small, high quality team to the World Indoor Championships”, comments Head Coach Peter Eriksson. “Three World Championship medallists from last season and seven Olympians will guide the team to great performances in Poland.”

2014 World Indoor Championships – Canadian Team

Name Event Hometown Coach
Nathan Brannen 1500m Cambridge, ON Wynn Gmitroski
TJ Lawrence 60m Toronto, ON Karl Gray
Cameron Levins 3000m Campbell River, BC Alberto Salazar
Michael Mason High Jump Nanoose Bay, BC Ziggy Szelagowicz
Nicole Sifuentes 1500m Winnipeg, MB Mike McGuire
Gavin Smellie 60m Etobicoke, ON Desai Williams  
Brianne Theisen-Eaton Pentathlon Humboldt, SK Harry Marra
Damian Warner Heptathlon London, ON Vickie Croley / Gar Leyshon
Jenna Westaway 800m Calgary, AB John Cannon

For the latest on the 2014 IAAF World Indoor Championships click here.