Defending champions and event record holders Ethiopians Hayle Lemi Berhanu and Anchialem Haymanot will headline the 19th edition of the Tata Mumbai Marathon. The event is a World Athletics Gold Label Road Race, and is scheduled for Sunday, January, 21.

Earlier this year, Berhanu clocked 2:07:32 and Haymanot logged a 2:24:15 on her debut, to win in Mumbai with new event records. Later, Haymanot improved her best to 2:22:23 in Amsterdam while finishing sixth. Berhanu posted a season-best 2:05:48 to finish at fifth.      

Speaking about returning to the Tata Mumbai Marathon, Hayle said, “I won the 2023 edition of the Mumbai marathon under perfect conditions. It was indeed a surprise and unexpected win at that time. But I want to make sure that I replicate my victory in January as I’m confident of finishing on top in 2024.”

Anchialem Haymanot photo credit: Procam International

However, it will not be an easy task for either runner to wrest their titles again in 2024. As many as six other men and two other women have superior personal bests in comparison to the current Mumbai course records have entered to challenge the event.  

The $405,000 USD prize money event will witness some of the finest athletes take centre-stage at the Tata Mumbai Marathon. The first three in each race stand to win US $50,000, $25,000 and $10,000, respectively. The $15,000 bonus also awaits those who break the existing event records.  

Ethiopian Kinde Atanw (30), who is credited with a PB of 2:03:51 — which was achieved while winning the Valencia Marathon in 2019 — will be the leading name among the men. Atanaw finished third during the World 10K in Bengaluru way back in 2014 on his previous appearance in India.

Lelisa Desisa, the 2019 World Champion, together with four fellow Ethiopian runners and Eritrean Merhawi Kesete will give Hayle Lemi a run for his money. Kesete finished ninth in Mumbai in 2020.

Desisa, had his earlier appearances in India through the TCS World 10K Bengaluru, there he finished third in 2011, and in the Vedanta Delhi Half Marathon for three consecutive years (2010-2012, including a victory in 2010) is credited with the second-fastest time (2:04:45) among those men who entered for the 2024 race. On his numerous international ventures, Desisa also captured two Boston marathon wins besides a title victory in New York among the big ones.  

Hayle Lemi Berhanu, photo credit: Procam International

The women’s line-up includes two Ethiopians and one Kenyan runner to make it tough for Anchialem in the upcoming race in Mumbai. Tadelech Bekele, the 2018 London Marathon podium finisher, and Sofia Assefa — the 2012 London Olympics steeplechase silver medallist who clocked an impressive 2:23:33 on her marathon debut in Amsterdam this October — will be the main challenge to the defending champion.  

Speaking about returning to the Tata Mumbai Marathon, Anchialem said, “I ran my maiden marathon in Mumbai and was lucky to win the race. I am eager to repeat the feat once again in 2024”

Commenting on this year’s field, Vivek Singh, Jt. MD. Procam International said, “The Tata Mumbai Marathon continues to attract some of the finest athletes in the world. It is also a matter of great pride to have our defending champions back and this year, with Kinde Atanaw & Tadelech Bekele we have one of the fastest fields we have ever had at the event. We are sure to have some scintillating action on the course.”



Kinde AtanawETH2:03:51
Hayle LemiETH2:04:33
Lelisa DesisaETH2:04:45
Haymanot AlewETH2:05:57
Gebretsadik AbrahaETH2:06:08
Merhawi KeseteERI2:06:36
Yohans MekashaETH2:07:19
Mitku TafaETH2:08:18
Dickson KiptooKEN2:08:31
Joshua KogoKEN2:08:39
Mesele KirosETHDebut
Demeke TesfayeETHDebut


Anchialem HaymanotETH2:22:23
Tadelech BekeleETH2:21:40
Sofia AssefaETH2:23:33
Zenebu BihonegnETH2:24:16
Muluhabt TsegaETH2:24:23
Ayantu Gemechu AbdiETH2:24:45
Aberash FayisaETH2:24:59
Mulugojam BirhanETH2:27;52
Medhin BeyeneETH2:28:59
Maritu KetemaETH2:30:56
Aberash DemisseETH2:40:43
Ayinadis TeshomeETHDebut
Aberash MinsewoETHDebut

Benard CheptochUGA
Luuk MaasNED
Dawit BelachewETH
Tilahun AmsaluETH
Levy KibetUGA
Selamihun FentaETH
Dominic NgenoKEN