© Copyright – 2015 – Athletics Illustrated

Jessica O’Connell won the 28th Austrian Women’s Run on Sunday, May 31st. The Canadian was victorious over 5K in the time of 15:32.8, which is a new personal best time for her. Second place went to Kenyan Viola Jelagat in 15:40.4 and third to Austrian Jennifer Wenth, who finished the race in 15:45.5. The 2014 winner finished fourth in the time of 15:50.5, she is Portugal’s current record holder Ana Dulce Felix, who finished in 15:50.5.

When asked about her experience she said, “I arrived in Europe on Wednesday so I was mostly over the jet lag hump by the time the race rolled around. The race organizers treated myself and the other international athletes very well, bringing us to dinner and whatnot, which was a great way to get to know the girls I’d be racing against. The friendly environment made me feel much more at home, so far away from home, so I went into the race relaxed, happy, and feeling good!”

“The elite field was close together – that was really great and helped to keep the pace up,” said Wenth, who is the Austrian national champion over 10,000-meters. Thirty-three thousand, one hundred and thirty-nine starters from 90 nations made ​​for a new participant record for the race.

“I ran the first 3K or so with Ana Dulce Felix (who has won several times before) and Viola Jelagat, focusing on running poised and racing the other girls. With about a mile to go I was feeling pretty good so I threw in a surge and was pleasantly surprised to be running alone in the lead through to the end. The course was flat, fast, and lined with a supportive crowd which led to some great times!” added O’Connell.

O’Connell’s best over 5,000m is 15:06.44. The 26-year-old Calgary native has set at least four new personal bests already during 2015 including twice in the 5K, once in the 5,000m and 1500m indoors.

Results Austrian Women’s Run – 5K elite competition:

1. Jessica O’Connell ( CAN ) 15:32.8
2. Viola Jelagat ( KEN ) 15:40.4
3. Jennifer Wenth ( AUT ) 15:45.5
4. Ana Dulce Felix ( POR ) 15:50.5
5 Charlotta Fougberg ( SWE ) 16:00.6