© Copyright -2014 – Athletics Illustrated

At the 2014 European Track and Field Championships, English double gold medallist in the 5,000m and 10,000m in both the 2012 London Olympic Games and 2013 IAAF World Track and Field Championships that took place in Moscow, Russia, Mo Farah recovered enough form from sickness recently to win the European 10,000m Championships.

Farah took first over teammate Andy Vernon with his time of 28:08.70, just off of Farah’s 28:08.10. He will likely win double gold again at the European champs as he is set to race the 5,000m distance.

See results below.

The Guardian wrote:

Mo Farah has revealed for the first time that he was airlifted to hospital last month because doctors feared there was something wrong with his heart after he lost consciousness on his bathroom floor in Park City, Utah.

Farah, who also suffered stomach pains and was kept in hospital for four days, insists he is fit to run in the 5,000m and 10,000m at the European Championships in Zurich – despite doctors still not knowing what caused his “scary” collapse.

“I had a tooth taken out because it was chipped and it got infected,” said Farah, who starts with the 10,000m final on Wednesday night. “I was in a bit of pain, but went for a run, and when I came back from a run I literally collapsed on the bathroom floor, completely knocked out.

See full story here.

1 522 Mo Farah Great Britain & NI 28:08.11
2 548 Andy Vernon Great Britain & NI 28:08.66 SB
3 921 Ali Kaya Turkey 28:08.72 PB
4 913 Kemboi Polat Arikan Turkey 28:11.11 SB
5 314 Bashir Abdi Belgium 28:13.61
6 666 Daniele Meucci Italy 28:19.79
7 507 Bouabdellah Tahri France 28:25.03
8 664 Stefano La Rosa Italy 28:50.99
9 743 Sondre Norstad Moen Norway 28:50.53
10 833 Yevgeniy Rybakov Russia 28:53.48
11 328 Koen Naert Belgium 29:04.87
12 797 Ricardo Ribas Portugal 29:09.47
13 325 Mats Lunders Belgium 29:12.86
14 748 Marius Oyre Vedvik Norway 29:42.10
15 402 Abdi Hakin Ulad Denmark 29:50.67
16 891 Mikael Ekvall Sweden 30:04.93
17 638 Himro Alami Israel 30:04.95
18 639 Girmaw Amare Israel 30:53.87
911 Mehmet Akkoyun Turkey DNF
888 Adil Bouafif Sweden DNF
938 Serhiy Lebib Ukraine DNF
495 Yassine Mandour France DNF
426 Manuel Angel Penas Spain DNF
735 Tom Wiggers Netherlands DNF