© Copyright – 2015 – Athletics Illustrated

Lead Pack: Mo Ahmed, Cameron Levins, Kelly Wiebe
Ahmed at 2012 Canadian Cross Country Championships with Cameron Levins and Kelly Wiebe. Photo credit: Christopher Kelsall

Following the well travelled route from the Wisconsin Badgers to the Bowerman Track Club to a national record, St. Catharines, Ontario native Mohammed Ahmed today brought down the Canadian record in the 5,000-metre distance by running to a 13:10.00 performance at the final Diamond League meet of the 2015 season, which took place in Brussels, Belgium.

Ahmed finished 12th in what was a fast race, which gave him the opportunity to better Jeff Schiebler’s 17-year-old national record by over three seconds. Schiebler’s record was from 1998 in a meet that took place in Berlin, Germany. He finished in the time of 13:13.96.

Ahmed attended the University of Wisconsin and competed for the Badgers from 2010 to 2014. He owns the school record for the 10,000-metre distance with his 27:34.64 performance, which is a very strong accomplishment considering some of the athletes who attended the school in the past, including Regina’s Simon Bairu, who is a former national record holder with his personal best of 27:23.63 and Chris Solinski, who was the first American to better the 27-minute barrier in the distance with his best of 26:59.60; both accomplished in the same race at the 2010 Payton Jordan Invitational. Both went on to run for the Bowerman Track Club, which just happens to Ahmed’s team.

Ahmed went on to represent Canada at the 2013 Moscow and 2015 Beijing IAAF World Track and Field Championships. He also competed in the 2012 London Olympic Games. Ahmed won gold in the 2015 Toronto Pan American Games in the 10,000-metre distance finishing in the time of 28:49.96.

The Brussels race was won by 18-yearold Yomif Kejelcha of Ethiopia in 12:53.98, the 80th fastest time in history. The top four athletes finished under the 13-minute barrier.

Yomif Kejelcha                                  ETH       97                           12:53.98

Hagos Gebrhiwet                             ETH        94                           12:54.70

Abdelaati Iguider                             MAR      87                           12:59.25

Thomas Pkemei Longosiwa         KEN        82                           12:59.72