From: Mathieu Gentès

Athletics Canada

MONCTON – The Hub City Classic, the fourth stop on the 2012 National Track League (NTL) circuit takes place today beginning at 6:30pm in Moncton. N.B. The Hub City Classic features ten NTL events with over 100 athletes from 12 different countries participating.

Track and field fans in New-Brunswick will have the opportunity to cheer on five newly named Olympians including maritime athletes Geoff Harris of Halifax, N.S., and Jenna Martin of Bridgewater, N.S. Newly minted Canadian Olympians Curtis Moss of Burnaby, B.C., Seyi Smith of Ottawa, Ont., and Justyn Warner of Markham, Ont., will also all compete in the Hub City Classic.

NTL Live on FloTrack

FloTrack will provide LIVE streaming coverage of the Hub City Classic today from 6:30- 9:00pm (5:30pm-8:00pm eastern time). You can also find pre-interviews leading into the meet and post-race interviews at

Moncton NTL events preview

Live results
Complete start lists

Men’s NTL 100m

In the men’s 100-metres 2012 Olympians Seyi Smith (4x100m) and Justyn Warner (100m & 4x100m) will line up at 7:00pm local time. They both will have an opportunity to gain valuable points as NTL leader Anson Henry (18 points) of Pickering, Ont., will sit this one out. Warner is currently tied for second place with 12 points with Hank Palmer of Lasalle, Que. Smith is in third place with 10 points.

Men’s NTL TIMEX 800m

Kyle Smith of Scarborough, Ont., and Andrew Ellerton of Sudbury, Ont., will race for NTL points as they look to overtake current leader Thomas Riva (15 points) of Qualicum Beach, B.C. Smith and Ellerton sit in second (14 points) and third (11 points) respectively.

Men’s NTL 1500m

Tied for first place with 16 points is Taylor Milne of Guelph, Ont., who will be looking to take the lead in the standings with a strong showing in Moncton. Also lining up in the men’s 1500-metres is Matt Lincoln (13 points) of Scarborough, Ont., Geoff Martinson (10 points) of Victoria, B.C., Kyle Boorsma (5 points) of Guelph, Ont., Matt Walters (5 points) of North Bay, Ont., and Peter Corrigan (4 points) of Calgary, Alta.

Men’s NTL Javelin

NTL javelin leader Curtis Moss (16 points) enters the Hub City Classic with full confidence after taking first at the Canadian Track and Field Trials with a toss of 77.83-metres. Kyle Nielsen of Langley, B.C., will throw alongside Moss, Nielsen is currently in third place with 10 points.

Women’s NTL 100m Hurdles

Angela Whyte of Edmonton, Alta., will have an opportunity to gain ground in the NTL points race as points leader Perdita Felicien of Pickering, Ont., is not competing. Felicien currently leads the way with 18 points, Whyte and Phylicia George of Markham, Ont., are tied for second with 11 points while Nikkita Holder of Pickering, Ont., is in third with 9 points.

Women’s NTL 400m

2012 Olympian Jenna Martin is coming off an emotional first place finish in an Olympic A standard time of 51.53 seconds at the Canadian Track and Field Trials to secure her ticket to London. Martin will face competition from NTL leader Ese Omene (20 points) of Regina, Sask.

Women’s NTL 800m  

2012 Canadian champion Lemlem Ogbasilassie (13 points) of Montreal, Que., will have an opportunity to gain ground on NTL points leader Melissa Bishop (14 points) of Eganville, Ont., who is not racing in Moncton.

Women’s NTL RUNNING ROOM 1500m

Hilary Stellingwerff of Sarnia, Ont., and Nicole Sifuentes (8 points) of Winnipeg, Man., are taking a much needed break after officially punching their tickets to London at the Trials giving Rachel Cliff (4 points) of Vancouver, B.C., the opportunity to gain ground in the NTL standings.

Women’s NTL hammer throw

Olympic team members Sultana Frizell of Perth, Ont., and Heather Steacy of Lethbridge, Alta., will not compete in Moncton providing Megann Rodhe of Kamloops, B.C., with an opportunity to gain points in the standings. Steacy is currently in first place with 20 points, with Frizell and Rodhe tied for second at 16 points.

Following Moncton, the NTL series will continue on Sunday July 8with the Aileen Meagher in Halifax, followed by the finale July 11in Toronto.For more information visit: