Athletics Canada

Aaron Brown of Toronto, Ont., won the men’s 100-metres in a close final with a time of 10.25 securing his spot on the World Championship team. Calgary, Alta.’s Sam Effah finished second in 10.33. Both Aaron and Sam entered having run the World Championship A standard and secured their spots on the International Association of Athletics Federation (IAAF) World Championship team with top three finishes.

In the women’s 100-metres Crystal Emmanuel of York, Ont., won in a time of 11.48 over Kimberley Hyacinthe of Lachenaie, Que., (11.55) and Shai-Anne Davis of Richmond, Ont., (11.61) who place second and third respectively.

IAAF World Championship Qualifiers

The top three in the men’s race walk all qualified for the IAAF World Championship which takes place in August in Moscow, Russia. Inaki Gomez of Vancouver, B.C. finished first in the 10-kilometre event in 40:01. Richmond, B.C.’s Evan Dunfee was second in 40:19, and Kitimat, B.C.’s Benjamin Thorne third in 41:07.

In the women’s 1500-metres Kate Van Buskirk of Brampton, Ont., won to punch her ticket to Moscow. Kate finished first in 4:16.45. Nicole Sifuentes of Winnipeg, Man., and Sheila Reid of Newmarket, Ont., finished second and third in 4:16.84 and 4:17.11 respectively, both qualified for the IAAF World Championship.

Brockville, Ont.’s Tim Nedow won the men’s discus throw with a mark of 55.35 metres. The discus win was Tim’s second national title a day after being crowned Canadian Champion in the shot put.

Shawnacy Barber of Toronto, Ont., Derek Drouin of Corunna, Ont., Michael Mason of Nanoose Bay, B.C., and Brianne Theisen of Humboldt, Sask., all entered the World Trials with IAAF World Championship A standards, needing top three placings to qualify for Worlds. Drouin won the men’s high jump with a jump of 2.31 metres with Mason in second clearing 2.28 metres.  Barber cleared 5.40-metres in the pole vault, and Theisen took the Canadian title in the heptathlon with 6399 points; all four qualified for Moscow.

IPC World Championship Standards

Earle Connor of Calgary, Alta., won the men’s T42 classification 100-metres clocking 12.55, an International Paralympic Committee (IPC) elite standard and his 11th national title in the event. St. Catharines, Ont.’s, Kyle Whitehouse won the men’s T38 100-metres in an IPC A standard time of 11.79. In the women’s T35 100-metres race, Virginia McLachlan won in an IPC A standard time of 16.89.

Day 3 Canadian Champions

 Name (Men)

Inaki Gomez10km race walk40:01 
Kyle WhitehouseT38 100m11.79IPC A
Earle ConnorT42 100m12.55IPC Elite
Alister McQueenT44 100m11.77IPC B
Braedon DolfoT13 100m11.56IPC B
Jon DunnkerleyT11 100m12.77 
Brandon KingT12 100m12.30 
Cory JohnsonT36 100m15.60 
Jonathon FureyT37 100m15.09 
Nate Brennan1500m3:51.10 
Shawnacy BarberPole Vault5.40m 
Kurt McCormackTriple Jump14.48m 
Tim NedowDiscus Throw55.35m 
Josh CassidyT54 10000m24:09.97 
Ingvar Moseley110m Hurdles14.01 
Philip Osei400m46.47 
Austin SmeenkT34 200m31.72IPC B
Brent LakatosT53 200m27.86IPCB
Curtis ThomT54 200m26.29IPCB
Cody SalomonsF44 High Jump1.58m 
Derek DrouinHigh Jump2.31mIAAF A
Kyle NielsenJavelin76.23m 
Cam Levins5000m14:11.63 
Aaron Brown100m10.25 
Name (Women)EventPerformanceStandard
Katelynn Ramage10km race walk54:36 
Virginia McLachlinT35 100m16.89IPC A
Megan MuscatT37 100m16.01 
Cindy BurtT38 100m16.13 
Shannon LaurieT44 100m15.34IPC B
Kate Van Buskirk1500m4:16.45 
Julie LabonteDiscus52.81m 
Michelle KinsellaHigh Jump1.83m 
Brianne TheisenHeptathlon6233IAAF A
Alicia Brown400m52.92 
Rachael BurrowsT34 200m45.41IPC B
Becky RichterT51 200m1:09.46 
Ilana DupontT53 200m33.14IPC B
Diane RoyT54 200m32.28IPC B
Andrea Seccafien5000m16:25.30 
Krista WoodwardJavelin58.59mMeet Record
Caroline EhrhardtTriple Jump12.71m 
Crystal Emmanuel100m11.48 

Finals in action on the last day of the Canadian Championships

  • 200-metres
  • 400-metre hurdles
  • 800-metre wheelchair
  • 100-metre hurdles
  • Wheelchair Javelin and Club throws
  • Women’s pole vault
  • Long jump
  • Hammer throw

For all Championship information including live streaming, results, schedule, standards and more visit: