Athletics Canada

Moncton, N.B. – Sherbrooke, Que.’s Diane Roy claimed second and third Canadian titles on the second day of competition at the 2013 Canadian Track and Field Championship in Moncton, N.B. Diane began the day with a victory in the T54 wheelchair classification 5000-metres crossing the line in 13:24.92.  In the afternoon session she took first in the T54 400-metres in a time of 59.38. Both of her performances were B standards for the IPC World Championships.

World Championship qualifying

Damian Warner of London, Ont., won the 10-event decathlon with a score of 8145 points to punch his ticket to the 2013 IAAF World Championships to be held in Moscow, Russia in mid August.

In a tight race that had four athletes gunning for a spot on the IAAF World Championship team, Matthew Hughes of Oshawa, Ont., took the win in the 3000-metres steeplechase over Chris Winter of Vancouver, B.C., and Alex Genest of Lac-aux-Sables, Que.  All three are now eligible for selection to the team.

Brent Lakatos of Dorval, Que., registered an elite standard of 49.80 to qualify for the IPC World Championships in the T53 400-metres. Oakville, Ont.’s Austin Smeenk also recorded an elite standard (57.25) in the T34 400-metres. Jason Dunkerley and guide runner Joshua Karanja of Ottawa, Ont., Kenneth Trudgeon of London, Ont., Becky Richter of Saskatoon, Sask., and Martha Sandoval Gustafson of Toronto, Ont., all registered IPC World Championships A standards in the T11 800-metres, F46 shot put and F51 & 52 discus throw respectively.

Shot in the Dark

The Canadian Championship shot put finals took place for the first time at an off-site location in downtown Moncton. Brockville, Ont.’s Tim Nedow won his first Canadian shot put Championship title in 20.72 metres. Dylan Armstrong finished in second with 20.31 metres and Justin Rodhe was third with 19.61 metres; both of Kamloops, B.C. All three have qualified for the IAAF World Championships. Sainte-Justine, Que.’s Julie Labonte won the women’s title in 17.61 metres which is a World Championship B standard.

Kenneth Trudgeon set a new Canadian record of 14.48-metres in the F46 classification shot put as part of the downtown Shot in the Dark competition. All three of his throws were Canadian record marks.

Canadian Champions on Day 2


Event Performance Standard
Diane Roy T54 wheelchair 5000m 13:24.92 IPC B
Alex Dupont T54 wheelchair 5000m 12:01.94  
Jason Dunkerley & guide Josh Karanja T11 ambulatory 800m 2:07.35 IPC A
Ilana Dupont T53 wheelchair 400m 1:03.10 IPC B
Diane Roy T54 wheelchair 400m 59.38 IPC B
Austin Smeenk T34 wheelchair 400m 57.25 IPC Elite
Brent Lakatos T53 wheelchair 400m 49.80 IPC Elite
Curtis Thom T54 wheelchair 400m 48.22 IPC B
Jessica Furlan 3000m steeplechase 9:59.62 *Meet Record
Matt Hughes 3000m steeplechase 8:29.50 IAAF B
Damian Warner Decathlon 8145 points IAAF B
Jennifer Brown F38 ambulatory shot put 9.92m  
Kevin Strybosch F37 ambulatory shot put 11.71m IPC B
Rajvir Saini F44 ambulatory shot put 11.26m IPC B
Kenneth Trudgeon F46 ambulatory shot put 13.60m IPC A
Christine Campbell F34 wheelchair discus 9.36m  
Becky Richter F51 wheelchair discus 4.88m IPC A
Martha Sandoval Gustafson F52 wheelchair discus 9.78m IPC A
Rob Hughes F33 wheelchair discus 19.32m  
Issa Ouedraogo F52 wheelchair discus 25.91m  
Megan Muscat F37 ambulatory long jump 3.25m  
Braedon Dolfo F13 ambulatory long jump 5.96m IPC B
Michael Johnstone F38 ambulatory long jump 4.49m  
Julie Labonte Shot put 17.61m IAAF B
Tim Nedow Shot put 20.72m IAAF A

Day 3 Action

Tomorrow’s competition begins with the 10-kilometre race walk in downtown Moncton featuring Inaki Gomez of Vancouver, B.C. who comes in with a World Championship A standard.  Gomez is looking for a top three placing to secure his place on the World Championship team.  Evan Dunfee of Richmond, B.C., and Benjamin Thorne of Kitimat, B.C., both enter with B standards.

Other day three finals include:

  • 100-metres finals, para-athletics and able-bodied championships
  • 1500-metres finals
  • 10000-metres wheelchair final
  • 110-metre hurdles final
  • Day 2 of the heptathlon
  • 400-metres final
  • Para-Athletics 200-metres wheelchair finals
  • 5000-metres finals